Thoughts, observations, scripture and other articles relating to Christianity and the Christian life.

Let us strive to be FLUSH with Biblical knowledge

Trying to get in the habit of saturating my daily life with the Word (Scripture) a week ago I had a thought:  I spend a fair amount of time in the restroom on a daily basis (My friends and family always told me I’m full of it), why not make sure that every time I sit down to become less full of “it”, fill myself with “it” (the Word)?  It’s so simple, I don’t know why I didn’t think of it before.  It’s sad to say, but I truly believe that the Bible is the word of God…and I haven’t even read all the way through it.  I had this same discussion with a believing friend last week and he confessed the same thing that he had not read through the entire bible either.   I have been saved for almost four years and I still have yet to read through the entire Bible.  Don’t get me wrong, I have read quite a bit of scripture, but almost all of it has been the New Testament which is no less valuable, nor any less the word of God.

So I sat down a week ago, put a NIV bible in the restroom (Normally I use an NASB bible for my more in depth study, but for just a more casual read through, I find the NIV to be easier), cleared out all of the other books and started at Genesis.  So far I’m about 30 chapters in but it does feel good knowing that as long as I continue to be full of “it”, I will be filled with it. :))

Is anyone else out there willing to give this challenge a try?  Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

