Thoughts, observations, scripture and other articles relating to Christianity and the Christian life.

Asking the TOUGH questions

I’d really like to hear what questions you have about God, Jesus, faith, Christianity etc. Both as a challenge for me to answer and to get all of us thinking about them. You know the questions I’m talking about “If God is love why does he let bad things happen?”, “Is the Bible REALLY the word of God? etc”.  Let’s explore these together and let “iron sharpen iron”. Please post your comments or questions below and encourage others to join the conversation. I look forward to seeing them.

-Neil

6 responses

  1. If Jesus didn’t come to abolish the law, then why don’t Christians observe them? Why don’t they observe the Jewish High Holy days as commanded in the OT?

    February 23, 2010 at 6:22 AM

  2. Hi Snuff. I’m about to head off to work, but I’ll do my best to answer this sometime in the next day or two. In the mean time, I’d point you to this discussion to further shine light on the issue: http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20070315210845AA7CYWB. Thank you for the question!

    February 23, 2010 at 6:27 AM

  3. I’ll wait patiently for your response, but I hope that you can do better than the link you provided which seems to give mixed thoughts on the subject and not many of those are great thinkers. Hope to hear from ya soon.

    February 24, 2010 at 8:15 AM

  4. Doubt is not the antithesis to faith, but rather, having doubts and asking tough questions about God is vital to Christian maturation. Jesus Christ

    February 24, 2010 at 3:50 PM

  5. Hi Snuff,

    From my research and understanding (given there are much more biblically knowledgeable people out there than I) we need to understand the different covenants in the old testament. There were a number of covenants, but in order to understand the way the old testament laws apply is to understand that many of the decrees stated in the old testament were done so under the Mosaic covenant which was fulfilled and then for believers (not the nation of Israel, but for followers of Jesus Christ) was replaced by the new covenant in Jesus Christ. So for example, the law of stoning an individual was actually a capital punishment handed down by the government of Israel, not something to be universally practiced by followers of Jesus after the mosaic covenant was fulfilled. I found an outstanding explanation of this at this website here if you would like to take a look: http://titusinstitute.com/applyingot/applying.php

    Thanks again for the great question. This question helped me to further my understanding of this concept as well. 🙂

    God Bless.

    -Neil

    February 24, 2010 at 6:28 PM

  6. Very good Neil. I’ve never read that article before, but similar writings. I am glad it helped you understand more. Hopefully I’ll come up with some other “deep thoughts” for ya to work on. 😀

    March 2, 2010 at 12:50 PM

Leave a Reply

