Thoughts, observations, scripture and other articles relating to Christianity and the Christian life.

Our Earthly Happieness is NOT Vital to God's Plan

At a day in age where “Me, me me” and “I just want to be happy” are cornerstones of daily life, let us reflect on where that appears in the bible as a positive trait…ahem…NOWHERE! Our earthly happiness and personal aspirations are probably of very little concern to (if not, no concern at all) God’s.

I bring this up because last night I lost my wallet and was REALLY angry for about an hour or so.  I lost it at the middle school I work at and the thought of some child picking it up and being selfish with it just got me upset.  “I work very hard for these kids and they go and take my wallet!” I kept on thinking.  I sat in my living room stewing about it, cursing (continuing to sin) as I talked it out with my wise, patient and loving fiance.  The whole thing was self-centered and I completely forgot what Romans 8:28 said: “And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” It’s sad that this event caused me to commit the sin of discontentment.  I know that God has my ETERNAL best interest in mind.  Apparently my eternal best interest was in me losing my wallet last night (How that works, I likely will not know for a very long time).  When I started to look at the situation in that way, it really calmed me down, and it just became a hinderance and not the horrendus situation it felt like last night.

I pray that I, and the rest of us, will not commit the sin of discontentment in any situation as nothing is outside of God’s control and all is going as He planned.  Just be still, and KNOW that He is GOD!

-God bless

Neil

Leave a Reply

