Thoughts, observations, scripture and other articles relating to Christianity and the Christian life.

My misconceptions of faith growing up

When I was young, I went to a couple of churches, but none of them did a very good job in teaching me what faith was all about and what the bible teaches.

When I grew up here are some misconceptions I had about faith:

  • Only 144,000 were going to heaven
  • Only “good” people go to heaven
  • The bible was just a bunch of stories

Obviously since that time, I have come to a better understanding of the the Bible, Jesus and the Gospel.  It saddens me that it took until my mid twenties to really get into the meat and bones of the faith, but I know that He had his reasons for it.  Maybe it was the fact that I didn’t poses the holy spirit until my twenties, or because it didn’t interest me, or I didn’t think it was import.  Either way, I regret not having known the essentials of the faith as late as I did.

Looking back now, there is a big part of me that wishes I had done a double masters, one in education and one in Christian/Apologetics studies.  Who knows, maybe one day the Lord will create the circumstances for me to have an opportunity to be formally trained in the academics of the faith.  I would LOVE to do something like that full time, but until then, I will serve the Lord in whatever circumstances he has me in.

What are some misconceptions that you all had in the past?

God bless.

-Neil

Leave a Reply

